Building Skills Partnership

Our mission is to improve the quality of life of low-wage property service workers and their families, by increasing their skills, access to education, and opportunities for career and community advancement. 

Subscribe to the Building Skills Partnership newsletter

© 2019 BUILDING SKILLS PARTNERSHIP

Apply to the

Mike Garcia Scholarship

The application period for the 2019-2020 year is closed.

Deadline

June 1, 2019

Applicants must meet the following criteria

  • Must be a SEIU-USWW member or member’s child.

  • Must be entering or continuing their education at a 2-year community college, 4-year university, or vocational institution in the fall of 2019.

  • Must use the award for the 2019-2020 Academic year.  

  • Have a Grade Point Average of 2.0 or higher.

 Applicants must turn in the following documents to

Building Skills Partnership no later than June 1st, 2019.

  • A completed and signed Application Form.

  • Official transcripts and/or High School Diploma/GED Certificate.

  • 1 Letter of Recommendation from a Teacher/Instructor, Coach, Counselor, Supervisor or Community Leader that addresses the leadership traits of the candidate (Letters must not be more than 1-year old)

  • 2 Typed Personal Statements

  • Proof of acceptance or matriculation at qualifying educational institution for the 2019-2020 school year

  • Student Aid Report (From FAFSA or CA Dream Act)

  • Resume    

Please submit your application to your local BSP office

 

San Diego

Crystal Ramirez

Program Assistant

cramirez@buildingskills.org

4001 El Cajon Boulevard, Suite 211
San Diego, CA 92105

619.727.5723

Los Angeles

Zazil Rojas

Program Assistant

zrojas@buildingskills.org

828 W. Washington Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90015

213.284.3802

Oakland

Beatriz Vera

Program Assistant

bvera@buildingskills.org

1650 Harbor Bay Pkwy

Suite 200
Oakland, CA 94502

510.437.8144

Orange County

Melissa Lupercio

Program Assistant

mlupercio@buildingskills.org

1936 West Chapman Avenue
Orange, CA 92868
657.888.1181

Silicon Valley

Gabriella Berumen

Financial Capability Coordinator

gberumen@buildingskills.org

1010 Ruff Drive
San Jose, CA 95110

408.208.5329

Sacramento

Sylvia Romo

Program Assistant 

sylvia@buildingskills.org

1555 River Park Drive, Suite 203
Sacramento, CA 95815

916.572.8836